Be Cultured

Cultured: showing or having good taste, manners, upbringing, and education, according to dictionary.com.

There are 194 countries around the world as recognized by the US State Department, according to worldatlas.com.

Amongst those many countries are many different cultural backgrounds. It is controversial how many cultures exist in our world. This is due to the fact that a culture has so many variables. Many consider there to be nine cultures based off of nine main Religions. Other variables are languages, food, apparel, ethnic background, living/lifestyle, governments, and even as narrow as individual communities.

In the past three years I have had the privilege of living in six different countries. Even though they didn’t cover the entire spectrum of cultures out there. They were each different in there own way.

Tallinn 2

Tallinn, Estonia

My Name is John White Erekson I am a 21-year-old College student. I love travel, adventure, fashion and NEW. I have traveled through all of Scandinavia, I lived for Eight months in Estonia, three months in Latvia, four and half Months in Lithuania, six months in Belarus and four months in Israel. As well I have traveled to Russia, Turkey, Jordan, Mexico, and Canada. The Rest of my life has been spent in the United States.

Like so many Young Adults I have the desire to travel and see the World. I recall the suspense when I was waiting for my call letter to serve as a full time Missionary for my Church. I wanted so desperately to go to a foreign land. Fortunately I was called to serve in the Baltic Mission (Baltic States, and Belarus). I was privileged to Learn Russian and meet people from all the four corners of the earth.

These Blog posts are based off of my research and personal experiences designed to help us respect, adept, and accept others for their cultures, values, and traditions. As we go from Coast to Coast let us be cultured.

Leave a Reply

